We are at Yuletide Defcon 4 People – man the festive hatches!

November 30…. tomorrow is officially Christmas season in my household – and for me that means tinsel, tinsel and more tinsel – you can NEVER have too much tinsel!

I have to admit upfront – I am a Christmas tragic… I take the festive season very seriously. I prepare for December 25th like Doomsday Preppers plan for the end of the world (luckily I get my D-day every year, which is so much more fun for perfecting THE PLAN).

The Plan – the method for making christmas fabulous. It includes the shopping schedule, the present buying, hiding and wrapping processes, the blueprint for Christmas Tree fabulousness, the master plan for lighting inside and outside the house, and so much more. How to build a chimney out of an average household laminate bookcase, the perfect santa cookie dough and the secret recipe for reindeer food.

xmas cooking Yes, I am that Christmas weirdo…. I should have been Mrs Santa Claus.  I watch The Santa Clause and am jealous! I have always been the Christmas girl…. at school, at home, I built my first homemade chimney at 11.  I refined the process over the years and now you may find it difficult to tell whether it is real or smoke and mirrors.  And tree decorating……. I take that one so seriously that my family do not dare touch a bauble…. they KNOW better.

xmas treeThis year my daughter is almost 6 and wanting to have a bit of a say in Christmas.  That’s a problem for me (yes, its my problem but not one I am willing to fix).  I thought long and hard about how to compromise – the result – Beth has a tree of her own. She has decorated it as she sees fit, and I have studiously butted out of the process, forcing opinions down along with the urge to tweek this or that.  Proudly – I managed to touch nothing and her tree is all her own.  I was amazed at the outcome – perhaps my Christmas decorating inclinations are a genetic disposition (there’s a PhD paper in there for someone!)  Back to the tree – she chose a white optic fibre tree and rainbow trims…. not traditional choices which played havoc with my yuletide sensibilities (my trees are red white green and gold – AND NOTHING ELSE), but they work for her.  Great effort for a 5-year-old.

beth's tree   beths tree 2

Come tomorrow the advent calendars are activated Ours is the Smiggle one this year – 5-year-old girls by law must love Smiggle!), the pudding soak with Frangelico steps up to the next level, and the decorating process commences.  I will come back and write some more each time I extricate myself from a roll of tinsel or LED lights.  If you have any particular recipes or instructables you would like me to cover just let me know!

 

I, Toldyah.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tania - Food Defender

A quality food professional and consumer with a passion for social media and a belief that we should get what we pay for! The only way to ensure that - consumer reviews! Al about products, services, the good, bad and ugly. Lets help each other. Ask, Tell, Communicate!

3 responses to “We are at Yuletide Defcon 4 People – man the festive hatches!”

  1. Leah says :

    The perfect fruit tart….can you help me with that?

Leave a Reply

