Be Brave, this Wont Hurt a Bit……

Ok – so I have been trying to follow-up on the living more exercise – it is much harder than I thought!  Working full-time means time is at  premium, so routines are not only useful, they are essential to getting the day done without disasters!  And once I start into a routine I go onto autopilot, and just blindly follow the routine until I come out of the fugue to find it is midnight and time for bed.  Oops – missed another day.

Somehow I need to find the right mix of routine to make the day move along without forgetting to wear knickers, and not reverting to automaton state.  And I imagine every other full-time working mum is in exactly the same boat!  If anyone has any tips I would be very glad to hear them!  And perhaps I need to start feeling better about the disasters – after all, they are the things that will give little Bethie Boo the experience in overcoming challenges and finding solutions.  DEEP BREATH, Old Mrs Perfectionist here (just slightly OCD about always getting things done the right way) – time to let go the reigns on get it right the first time.  Time to explore the other side of the fence – you know – the dark side,  CHAOS.  (Can you here the asthmatic whine of Darth Vader beckoning you over, I can).  I mean, how bad can it be?  No lunch packed, ah well there are SHOPS and CAFES.  House wasn’t vacuumed today, there is always tomorrow – the dirt will still be there. No clean knickers……….hmmm, lets not go there, that may just be my line in the sand.  Oh wait, there’s always Target *grin*  Phew – saved.Our next big step is one that is making both hubby and I quite panicked…..leaving our 3-year-old overnight.  OMG…my heart is pounding.  As parents we sacrifice so much for our kids and feel utter responsibility for them don’t we?  To leave her overnight with someone else is like deserting your post.  I expect Sunday morning will start with military police breaking down the hotel room door and hauling us off to be court martialed.  And this is all so stupid.  She is staying with the grandparents – whom she has spent nearly every weekday with since she was 4 months old – she probably knows them better than us LMAO.  She is viewing the sleepover as exciting (which is exactly what I want – her to meet changes and new things with a positive attitude).

  

She will get spoilt.  The in-laws on the other hand are in for a shock at the 5.30am wake up call hehe.   And that of course leads to MY positive side – we get to have a sleep in for the first time in 3 years, plus a romantic dinner at 360 Bar and Dining (where we got engaged) by ourselves, and later than 6pm – a return to adulthood!  Plus we are going to the Picasso exhibition – a treat I doubt Ms 3 would find particularly enthralling after the first 3 weird people paintings (I can hear it now: Mum – why is that lady’s nose up there? And why has she got a pointed head. And why is her arm like that…. Why is she blue?  Can she see with her eyes like that.  Mum, why aren’t my eyes like that?)  Could be fun for 10 minutes!

Do you get to play the 1000 question game with your kids?  I love it, I love to answer factually and see how far we can go – then when I run out of true answers I start with the silly, magical answers.  Bethie Boo knows they aren’t true, but it becomes a game who can get the last idea or question.  We usually end up in stitches.

Well – time to go work – I hope your day is filled with questions!

Oh – and the weekend away – is thanks to winning a competition from Triple  M & Art Gallery NSW – YOU GUYS ROCK – THANKS SO MUCH!

I, Toldyah

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tania - Food Defender

A quality food professional and consumer with a passion for social media and a belief that we should get what we pay for! The only way to ensure that - consumer reviews! Al about products, services, the good, bad and ugly. Lets help each other. Ask, Tell, Communicate!

Leave a Reply

