A sign of the times………..

Social Media is big business these days.  It is a platform that reaches people whilst they work, play, even sleep!  No other medium has ever had such exposure!  We tweet the brekkie menu, upload pics of the slammin’ night out as we eat the 3am manky kebab (and then try desperately to remove them the next morning before the wrong person sees them).  We status update the latest family argument, and we send birthday messages rather than phone. And it seems we tweet our impending doom prior to it arriving – truly a sign of our times isn’t  it:


Sounds like I am complaining huh?  But I am not.  I use FB, Twitter and Google + everyday.  Many times a day.  I have avoided getting a Smart Phone cos I KNOW what will happen then!  But that day is coming very soon, I need one for the business. Can you hear the slow drum beat rolling me towards my doom…

(And BTW – HTC – if you are reading – I would LOVE a Sensation…..pleaseeee, even though it does seem to mean I am moving to Telstra for it!)

On the upside, I now speak with my UK and Dutch cousins on a frequent basis, and have shared a lot of family history that would otherwise have been lost.  And I see pics and updates about friends interstate in real-time, as do they of my family. Whether they want to or not hehehe.

And then there are the other uses – commercial gain from entertaining the masses.  Which is where Toldyah is about to strike!  But more on that later.  I have been trolling the ethers for funny commentaries on Social Media and thought I would share them to lighten the day.

Richard Branson uses Twitter to update his good deeds – and make some political statements – I love him for putting himself out there – stay true Sir Richard!

And then there are those funny status updates…….. there is always a friend like Mr Red isn’t there…….you just pray it aint YOU!

And some other tweets and FB status offerings: The Bosha one is my fave – please turn up this Saturday at my place with paintbrushes!

____ People who claim to “play music by ear” always use their hands. (donni)
____ is organizing a flash mob at my place, Thursday 3pm. Bring lawnmowers. (TheBosha)
____ Some days I ask, “What would Chewbacca do?” And the answer is always, “Make that gargly roaring sound.” So that’s what I do. (RexHuppke)
____ I’d like to learn one of those clicking languages from Africa because I get the feeling my knees are trying to tell me something. (plemur)

____ Sometimes I like to go to the hardware store and run around with a screwdriver shouting, “Ladies and gentlemen, this is not a drill!” (girlweena)
____ The Internet makes things so convenient. Before it existed, if you wanted to order a DVD online, you had to invent the Internet. (StephenAtHome)
____ After intensive research I have determined that there is no type of juice that a double shot of vodka doesn’t improve. (navanax)
____ That’s me in the corner. That’s me with my i-Phone, losing my reception. (depreciated)

Well, enough mucking around – time to do some work – catch yah

I, Toldyah.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tania - Food Defender

A quality food professional and consumer with a passion for social media and a belief that we should get what we pay for! The only way to ensure that - consumer reviews! Al about products, services, the good, bad and ugly. Lets help each other. Ask, Tell, Communicate!

2 responses to “A sign of the times………..”

  1. drawnoutdoors says :

    Ahhh that made me giggle.
    OK, so I was wondering about Google+ and what exactly it was / is going to be – your cartoon was a perfect explanation! Ta.
    Now to ponder to be a twit or not to be a twit??!!?

  2. toldyah says :

    Hehe – it is facebook with a bit extra – video chat etc. Different ways of having your contacts organised so you can pick and choose whom you say things too etc.

    BE A TWIT for sure

Leave a Reply

