Espionage is my middle name

Mum was English, so I was brought up with good manners beaten into me.

Don’t chew with your mouth open, give your seat up to the elderly on a bus, don’t read the newspaper over someone’s shoulder, and never, EVER, EVER eavesdrop on other people’s conversations.  Talk about taking the fun out of a morning bus trip to the city, you had to pretend you were Helen Keller!

Makes it hard sometimes.  In business you have to be a bit ruthless, gathering intelligence on your target market in ways that mum would never have approved of because having to buy that data is very expensive, especially when you are talking about Gen Y – those untrusting souls.

So I send out surveys, and ask opinions of those Gen Y’s I know (and thank you all – I am very grateful and will repay you when I am a mogul).  But it isn’t enough – I need more data!

So there I was yesterday afternoon – in between my day business school session (last one at Bizness Babes *sob*) and my MEGA evening course, on a train to the second location.  It was later afternoon and a group of school girls got on and were standing beside me.  Ah ha – my target market.  Come here my pretties…..

Ok – that sounds creepy – forget that, I actually sat very still so I wouldn’t frighten them off and appeared to be studying the train line map intently.

Strangely, there wasnt a Smart Phone to be seen amongst the group of 8.  Unusual…..  but then they were very deep in discussion, so perhaps this was a social no-no in such circumstances.

I could hear mum in my head….. NO listening.  And my replying “but mum – target market……. this could be a goldmine and its FREE”.  My stinginess won out over ethics.  That’s the Dutch bit of me – hehe.  So I listened whilst I stared at the map, and made mental notes of what was worthy of their time.  Haircuts, hair colours, weekend party and what to wear. Whether Lady Gaga ever wears normal clothes (LOL), had to concentrate very hard on the map so I wouldnt smile at that point.  Then their talk turned to makeup – and why makeup for old ladies was so expensive……I figured they were talking about Clarins, Estee Lauder etc that old ladies like me wear……  I was just starting to feel depressed as they got off the train – a few more minutes of that conversation and I may have gone and bought myself a zimmer frame.

But it was a huge win – and a great insight into uncensored interests of my target market – info that is critical for Toldyah.  I think I might go ride the trains for a week or two from 7.30-9.30am and 3-5pm and gather more intelligence.  ASIO would be so proud of me.

Let’s just hope I don’t get picked up as a stalker!

I, Toldyah

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tania - Food Defender

A quality food professional and consumer with a passion for social media and a belief that we should get what we pay for! The only way to ensure that - consumer reviews! Al about products, services, the good, bad and ugly. Lets help each other. Ask, Tell, Communicate!

2 responses to “Espionage is my middle name”

  1. Tony says :

    Hey cuz. Don’t forget I have a 14yr you can send surveys to. He doesn’t go anywhere without his smartphone. He even took it on a hike to the Lake District (where we now know there are no lakes).

  2. toldyah says :

    Absolutely! Hehe, will let u know when I have one ready to go.

Leave a Reply

