Sunday, Bloggy Sunday

Ahhhhhhh – welcome to Sunday!  Day of rest – yeah right, not if you have kids under the age of 15!   Not that I am complaining.  I have never accomplished so much as since we have had children. I’ve seen more, done more and slept less than ever in my life.

Spiro - Short Shower Super Hero

So here I am Sunday morning deciding what to blog. Should’ve done it yesterday but was busy doing our entry for the Origin Sustainability drive.

“What – not working on the business,” you ask?

Nope – a time out – mainly due to desperation.  Cant afford the massive increase in electricity bills anymore, so it’s either turn off the heat and become Eskimos or try to win solar electricity & hot water installations and electricity free for a year.

Super Dog - Natural Gas Producer - Phewwwwwww

Super Dog - Natural Gas Producer - Phewwwwwww

My entry consisted of a Powerpoint preso converted into a video.  The theme: everyday neighbourhood cartoon eco superheroes.  I was trying to be different from everyone else and a bit entertaining. Having looked at the other, BORING BORING BORING entries I felt the poor judges needed a change to save their sanity.  Why is it eco people are so serious?  Be green AND fun!

Back to the point.  The other part of the process is getting neighbour support.  Up to 19 neighbours can share the prize. Tell me – who wouldn’t want free electricity and gas plus solar electricity and hot water put in for free?  Win the comp and the street gets $250,ooo in prizes!  Yes yes, I can see all your hands up.  Sorry – you have to live in my street.  I apologise, I know, you are already disappointed at not having me as a neighbour, now you may be missing out on free stuff as well.

Super Hero Ron the Recycler

Ooops – digressing again – bad habit.  We live in a very long street, so I  made 30 flyers and popped around to all the neighbours  and left them in postboxes a week ago. I was expecting to be swarmed and needing to beat people off with a stick.  I had worked out how I would ballot for the 19 lucky neighbours from a hat if we had too many.

And then I waited…..

And waited…….

And waited…….  (sounds of crickets echoing in the silence)

Finally I got 4 responses. YAY.  And then yesterday morning one more dribbled in.

Super Hero Suzie - Solar Chick - she knows where the sun does shine

What the………. people don’t want FREE stuff?  OMG!  I did a door knock and got another 4 takers.  That was it.   I don’t believe it.  I am offering to do all the work, all yah have to do is click yes on an email and you’re in for an equal share of the prizes.

Another lesson learnt – the majority of people are apathetic, even when offered stuff for free.  Worried their details may be used wrongly via electronic means perhaps?  Or just plain don’t believe good luck can be theirs.

It was a bit of a shock!

So how do I market to such people?  Competitions wont work.  How do I show them how Toldyah can help them….  Are they a market to aim for or not?  Will they follow once word of mouth tells them Toldyah is the place to be?  So many questions!

Let’s hope I win the comp so I have the electricity to go looking for answers *grin*

Time to go do one last door knock.

PS. Please do my poll below – it is really important for my business ideas! Thnx.

I, Toldyah

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Tania - Food Defender

A quality food professional and consumer with a passion for social media and a belief that we should get what we pay for! The only way to ensure that - consumer reviews! Al about products, services, the good, bad and ugly. Lets help each other. Ask, Tell, Communicate!

Leave a Reply

